Fortifygen

Retool yourself

Nestle to roll out Vegan Condensed Milk: Carnation Range

Vegan milk is also called nut milk, plant milk, or plant-based liquid. It is basically a non-dairy beverage made from a water-based plant abstract which imparts the aroma and flavor. Few examples of the varieties available today are cashew, soy, oats, almonds, rice, coconut. But following the innovation trail, vegan condensed milk is also a thing now! Nestle is stepping in with its vegan Carnation range

The vegan Carnation range by Nestle

Nestle recently announced the release of a vegan alternative to its popular Carnation range. The product is made from a blend of oat and rice flour and is suitable for use in home baking. It is said to add “an extra fudgy flavor and texture to banoffee pie, brownies, and cheesecake”.

The vegan range provides baking enthusiasts with a vegan alternative to dairy and caramel based dishes without compromising texture or taste. The Carnation Vegan has a simple taste with a hint of lightly toasted oats, thereby making it versatile for a variety of baking sweet treats.

Nestle product Carnation Vegan will roll into Ocado from September, followed by Tesco and Morrisons in October. The product is set to retail at 2.19 pounds for a 370g tin compared to 1.70 pounds for conventional Carnation condensed milk.

The new product is certified by the Vegan Society as suitable for those following a vegan diet.

Marketing head for dairy brands UK, Vittoria Simms, said: “Our new Vegan condensed milk Alternative has been in development for 18 months, thus bringing the plant-based, dairy-free trend straight into the kitchen for home baking.”

There has been a 61% rise in sweet baking in March and April reportedly. This is majorly due to the ongoing Corona virus pandemic and the necessity of staying at home. 

She continued to say that it is a challenge for vegans to find suitable alternatives to make dairy-based sweet treats, without compromising either taste, appearance, or texture.

Read more about Nestle’s new Yes! bars made of plant protein. 


Rate this article - 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (7 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...