Retool yourself

The Main Certifications Needed In Food Industry

India is the world’s second-most populous country which shall overtake China in 2022, as estimated by a UN report. It is now reaching 20% of the global population, presenting opportunities for foreign food products. In this vast population, there’s a huge demand for packaged food in India. Certifications are legal documents for ensuring the safety standards of a product that can be a useful tool to add credibility, by demonstrating that your product or service meets the expectations of the customers.

Series of principles are followed:

– Commitment to its shareholders

– Good reputation in terms of the organization

– Customer-oriented management

– Competitive advantage

Next, we will analyze the food certificates that we consider most interesting, specifying those that facilitate entry into certain markets of food industries.

Some major points which are collected from social media, govt. websites, online reports and discussion with people are mentioned below:

ISO 9001

ISO 9001 certification is an internationally recognized Quality Management System (QMS) standard. It is the most important and recognized certification standard surpassing one million certificates worldwide.

The current version is ISO 9001:2015, which was published in September of 2015.

This standard is applicable to any organization, regardless of its size, sector or activity, or geographic location. By focusing on processes and customer satisfaction rather than procedures, it is equally applicable to both service providers and manufacturers. It does not matter what industry you are (service or manufacturing), what the size of your business, it can be implemented to even small businesses.


Agmark is the certification provided for the agriculture produce in India, guaranteeing that they conform to a set of standards affirmed by the Directorate of Marketing and Inspection, an office of the Government of India.

FSSAI has prescribed mandatory certification under AGMARK for certain products, viz. blended edible vegetable oil, fat spread.


Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points (HACCP) is an internationally recognized method of identifying and managing food safety-related risk and, when central to an active food safety program, can provide your customers, the public, and regulatory agencies assurance that a food safety program is well managed.

A HACCP system allows you to identify hazards and put in place controls to manage these throughout your supply chain during production.

The scheme meets the requirements of the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) – established by the World Health Organization and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to bring together international food standards, guidelines and codes of practice to ensure fair trade.

  1. Implement an internationally recognized food safety system.
  2. Conveys a degree of confidence required by consumers, retailers, and buyers within the food industry.
  3. Provides buyers, consumers, government enforcement, and trade agencies with the justified assurance that control systems are in place to assure the safe production of food.
  4. HACCP can add value to your entire supply chain with improved hazard controls, whatever its size or location.


Halal is an Arabic word which means ‘permissible’ in English. In terms of food, it means that a food that is permissible and lawful to eat in the Islamic religion. The food which is under this certification must follow strange but religious guidelines,

  1. Allah’s (God’s) name must be pronounced during slaughter.
  2. The instrument must be very sharp to ensure humane slaughter. The animal must be slit at the throat.
  3. The animal must not be unconscious during slaughtering.
  4. The animal must be hung upside down and allowed to bleed dry. Eating blood is not halal.
  5. These steps must be accomplished by a Muslim or the People of the Book (Christian or Jew.) Many observant Muslims find kosher meat acceptable.
  6. The animal must have been fed a natural diet that did not contain animal by-products.
  7. It cannot be a forbidden cut (such as meat from hindquarters) or animals (such as pork).


Kosher, is the term which means pure and healthy, used where the strict guidelines to be followed by Jewish tradition while dietary standards.

The foods that are used under kosher categories include fleshing(meat-based food), mulching(milk-based food), and pareve(other than milk or meat-based food).

According to this standard,

  1. Every category may be served or eaten exclusively, as meat may never be served or eaten at the same meal as a dairy product.
  2. All utensils and equipment used to process and clean meat and dairy must be kept separate — even down to the sinks in which they’re washed.
  3. After eating meat, you must wait for a designated amount of time before consuming any dairy product. The particular length of time varies among different Jewish customs but is usually between one and six hours.
  4. Pareve food items are considered neutral and may be eaten alongside either meat or dairy.
  5. However, if a pareve food item is prepared or processed using any equipment used to process meat or dairy, it may be reclassified as meat, dairy, or non-kosher.

To know more about food certifications, click here

To read more such industry news, click here

Rate this article - 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (8 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

error: Content is protected !!